The average person now spends 24 hours online every week. Much of that time is spent using a web browser like Google Chrome. When that browser suddenly does something unexpected, users notice.
That’s what happened when Google released Chrome 69 back in September. Some users started noticing that when they signed in to one of Google’s web services their account was automatically connected to Google Chrome.
There’s a very good reason Chrome allows its users to sign in with a Google account. Signing in allows you to synchronize your favorites, preferences, passwords, and even Chrome apps on all your devices. Make a change on one and it magically follows you wherever else you sign in to Chrome.
Not all Chrome users want that to happen, however. Power users may prefer to use other methods to keep their browsing data synchronized. Privacy-minded users may just want to avoid making yet another account connection to Google.
When Chrome 69 started signing in users without prompting them, the outcry was swift and loud. With the release of Chrome 70 this week we now know that Google clearly heard its users.
A setting has been added so that users can prevent Chrome from assuming you want to be signed in to the browser itself just because you sign in to one of Google’s web apps.
That’s the switch above. You can find it by opening Chrome’s settings page and typing “chrome sign-in” or just “sign-in” into the search bar.
You can also get to it by scrolling down and clicking “advanced” at the bottom of the settings page. You’ll see the sign-in switch near the top of the “privacy and security” section.
Google notes that even if you do sign in to the Chrome browser that it won’t sync your data automatically. Sync is a process that you have to choose to enable. Chrome may prompt you to do that from time to time, but it’s always your choice. It’s a choice you can undo later, too, by turning sync off in your settings.